Elder Abuse

Angela Muki - Wednesday, July 17, 2013 | Comments (0)
“Until the great mass of the people shall be filled with the sense of responsibility for each other’s welfare, social justice can never be attained.” The National Center on Elder Abuse defines seven different types of elder abuse: physical abuse; sexual abuse; emotional abuse; financial exploitation; neglect; abandonment; and self-neglect. The forensic marker for one fo ... Read More

Medicare Frustrations

Angela Muki - Tuesday, July 16, 2013 | Comments (0)
Traditional Medicare is a national medical insurance program administered by the United States government to guarantee health insurance to Americans age 65 and over. The cost of this insurance varies dependent upon income and the selected insurance coverage, and does not include all medical services. The program is viewed as essential to the health of all Americans and was set in place by th ... Read More

What is a Gerontologist

Angela Muki - Tuesday, July 02, 2013 | Comments (0)
There is no one definition for the broad spectrum of services that a gerontologist can provide. On their website, the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Allied Health Professions defines Gerontologists as “health care professionals who specialize in the field of aging related dimensions of change over the lifespan.& ... Read More